Home > Round the World > Luxury in a spare room

Luxury in a spare room

13 December, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I write from a journalist’s desk in a swish (am now using that word all the time… it is Dad’s fault) part of Santiago, Chile.

At 5.45 this morning, I awoke Gideon and he showed me to the spare room / office. did i need anything? just a shower and the web. says it all, doesn’t it. Gideon has heroically allowed me to stay for a few days after a good word from the wonderful Ms Ford.

Christmas feels odd. Am missing pre-christmas drinks and huddling in a pub away from the rain. But I’m sure I will get enough of that in February.

My last few days were spent in the spectacular surroundings of Lake Atitlan. Pictures shortly.

I did not get my chakkras read – but I did very much join the metaphysical community which lives in San Marcos, across the lake from party town San Pedro. Suffice it to say that I have crystals in my pocket; did a whole 2 hours of yoga (tough); spent time chanting in a temazcal sauna with two americans (“it’s like going back to the womb, man”) and a belgian; and had discussion over breakfast of whether Mercury / Odin was indeed the wisest of the gods.

Of course, this international community of mediums, musicians and the odd mad man still have the web, mobiles and pirate dvds. so all is not lost.

Suspect Santiago will be a bit different.

  1. Elton
    16 December, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    The chicks must be digging that beard man…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

